Knitting

The Magic of Blocking

So I finished the front panels of my Folklore Cardigan earlier this week and decided to start blocking the pieces while I work on the sleeves. I wanted to see what difference blocking would make so I just did the right side first.

I looked into a few different ways of blocking and decided to try wet blocking. I don’t have blocking mats (yet?) so I pinned it to the spare bed. There was a technique that said to used a hair dryer so I tried it and the results look good.

I’ve never really blocked my knitting before so I was surprised to see how much neater the stitches look. My gauge is a bit off and blocking did help a bit. It will still probably be a bit on the smaller side though.

Oh, I didn’t end up adding the pockets. I was thinking about doing inset pockets and I even made the two pieces for them, but I couldn’t figure out to to modify the front with all the cables. I’ll save them for a future project.

The sleeves are nearly done. Hope I can finished the whole sweater by next weekend.

Leave a comment