Knitting

Some Thoughts on Seaming

I used to avoid projects that require a lot of seaming because I really don’t like seaming. A while back, I knitted the Sliding Tiles Blanket and then the Hue Shift Afghan. The Sliding Tiles Blanket required so much seaming, and there wasn’t a way around it. I ended up sewing pieces together as I went so I wouldn’t have a bunch to sew at the end. It worked out well. The Hue Shift Afghan had less to sew. By that time, I also got better at it, I guess. It was pretty satisfying when the rows matched up so well.

I’m working on this Folklore Cardigan right now. Before I started, I saw that it’s made of five pieces and the sleeves are knit flat, so I mentally prepared myself for all the seaming. It turns out I was not prepared for it after all. I did the shoulders first and they weren’t too bad. Today, I attached one sleeve, closed the sleeve, and then sewed that side of the sweater. I want to finish the other side, but I will probably put it off until tomorrow.

It looks good so far! I can’t wait to finish it. But the weather is starting to get hot!

Leave a comment